Gluten Free, yet again

After years of being gluten free, I found out I actually was allergic to barley, rye, and oats, but not wheat.  I went back to eating wheat, sans the other gluten-containing grains.  This made eating out still tricky, and I never could eat home-baked goods that were not my own baked goods (or my mom!), because nearly all of the all-purpose flour and bread flour has barley flour or barley malt added to it.  Didn’t know that, did you?  Neither did I, until I read the label on the bags of flour.

However, over time I’ve started having more issues with reflux, and bloating, and other general digestive malaise.  Nothing huge, but just not comfortable at all times.  So, when I went to the doctor for an annual checkup, I asked for her to run Celiac Disease testing.  She did, and it was negative.  That was good, and yet I still felt like I needed to give gluten free another try, at least for a month or so.  Evaluate at that point how I feel.

Going gluten free is pretty easy for me, since I’ve done it before(for 4 1/2 years!), and Humorous Thinker has been GF for 6 years now.  So I’ve got the recipes, I still mostly cook and bake gluten free.  It’s the bread, and the snacks, that I really had to cut out.

It’s been less than a week.  And today I wore a pair of jeans that I also wore on Tuesday.  When I wore them on Tuesday, it was hard to button them, because I was so bloated.  When I wore them today, no problems. They were comfortable all day.  I guess that’s the answer I need right now.  I’ll give it a few more weeks, then I’ll do a challenge.  It may just be coincidence.  We’ll see.

In celebration, tonight I did my first experiment with some gluten-free crackers based on this lovely recipe:  http://www.kitchenparade.com/2008/08/quick-crisp-flatbread.php Seriously, I love these crackers!  So my gluten free version isn’t perfect yet, but it’s decent.  Nicely crispy!  The buckwheat flour I used is a very strong buckwheat, so the flavor is strong.   They’ll be good with hummus tomorrow.

  1. #1 by Lauren on January 21, 2011 - 10:21 pm

    Heather, Gluten gives me huge issues too – with bloating, digestion and aches and pains. I keep trying it again. Why, I don’t know. Because pizza is so yummy? Sigh. Currently dealing with some massive bloat from eating it on Wednesday. I also tested celiac negative.

    • #2 by heatherinIN on January 22, 2011 - 9:52 am

      Lauren, with you on the sigh. 🙂 But my last gluten free pizza crust was pretty tasty, so there is still hope for me!

      I imagine that now that I’m gluten free, any gluten will leave me feeling miserable, instead of just always kind-of-bad. It’s how it seems to work. But, the end result of feeling much better every day is always worth it.

      Hopefully your yuckiness is over soon!

Leave a Reply

