Today = Relaxed

Today is a holiday, and thus, I did not have to work.  I did do quite a bit, but in a very relaxed manner.

  • I slept in until 7:45 or so.  Ahhh.
  • I made pancakes, but only to fill in the gap for breakfasts the rest of the week.  The kids who were awake had already eaten, and the other was sleeping, so didn’t need them yet (Perpetual Motion Boy slept until after 8.  This is unheard of here!  That’s a nice 12 hours of sleep for him).  It was nice to make pancakes in a non-rushed manner.
  • I drank a lot of coffee, but only because I love coffee, not because I needed it to stay awake.
  • I relaxed, quietly, while the kids (and neighbor kid, over for the day) were playing.
  • I took a long, hot shower.
  • I played some card games with the neighbor kid.
  • I played Quirkle for the first time, and I love it!
  • I ate an even bigger salad than normal for lunch, since it didn’t have to fit into a container in my lunch box.
  • I did a lot of research for the next 5 resources for my project for Seminar in Child Language.  My eyes hurt from reading pdf articles online, but I could take a break when I needed.
  • I made crepes for dinner, my first time ever making crepes!  The first few were a disaster, but once I perfected how long to cook them before flipping, and how thick to pour the batter, they were good!  We had ham and cheese for dinner crepes, and Dark Chocolate Dreams + sliced bananas for dessert crepes.  I did forget to do a vegetable for dinner, in my relaxed mindset today.  I told the kids they get double tomorrow.   It was supposed to be spaghetti squash.
  • I put one grumpy Miss Imagination (maybe better called Miss Attitude at bedtime tonight) to bed while one boy played outside for 30 minutes in the fresh snow, and the other boy spent an hour shoveling the sidewalk around the block, earning the accolades of our neighbor, who said she wants him to be in charge of shoveling her sidewalk next year, for money.  Way to go, Humorous Thinker!
  • I cleaned up from dinner, and now I’m relaxing before Perpetual Motion Boy goes to bed.

The real test will be, can I get myself out of this “relaxed” mindset, and back into “way too much to do, but I have to do it anyway” mindset tomorrow at work.  You know you’ve got a lot going on when you are, for a moment, thankful when  a whole group of kids is out sick.  That’s right before realizing that it’s really only a matter of time before my boys, at the same school, get the flu that is going around.  But for a brief moment, the possibility of getting paperwork done in that 20 free minutes is exhilarating.

  1. #1 by mom on February 21, 2011 - 7:03 pm

    I sure know what you mean about going back to the “real world” after a nice relaxing day! I am glad it was relaxing for you. What flour did you use in the crepes?

    • #2 by heatherinIN on February 21, 2011 - 8:28 pm

      I used sorghum flour for the “gluten free all purpose”, and buckwheat flour as called for. Very good! I tried a similar recipe, too, to compare them, and liked this one best.

  2. #3 by Amy O on February 21, 2011 - 7:26 pm

    Glad you had a relaxing day! The crepes sound yummy!

Leave a Reply

