Spring Semester in Review, Part 2

Motor Speech Disorders: Final grade A, 97%

In this class, we learned about all 7 types of dysarthria as well as apraxia.  We watched a lot of video clips (which, darn it, never streamed properly live, and I always had to go back and watch them again), and learned about differential diagnosis for these motor speech disorders.  I know that when faced with this kind of assessment in clinical practice, I will be sitting with my textbook and notes and listening to an audio recording over and over–it’s going to take time to really learn it so my ears remember each type without notes!  However, maybe because I had to listen to clips over and over, I do have a good start.

We also learned a lot about various etiologies that may lead to a motor speech disorder.  We had two projects for the class (along with a midterm and a final).  The first was on the “medical background information of a disorder, disease, condition that produces a motor speech disorder.”  I chose Guillain-Barré Syndrome. And I was about to say, “too bad I can’t share it on the blog,” but I think I can share it.  Well, kind of.  You actually have to download it to your computer.  I am not sure how to embed a ppt in a post, if in fact that’s even possible.

Guillain-Barré Syndrome

The second project was on “the speech therapy approach that would be used to treat topics addressed in project 1.”  I had a lot of fun with this project, and really learned a lot more about treatment.

Guillain-Barré Syndrome Treatment

During class, we all theoretically presented one  of our projects.  I say theoretically, because though the week I presented (the first week, on my first project) went smoothly, after that Adobe Connect had some sort of problem every week.  Some people didn’t get to present at all; some experienced technical difficulties when trying (the mic wouldn’t work at all); some had the pleasure of having Adobe Connect fail to, well, connect, during their presentation.  However, we do get to download all of the presentations to review and save for further knowledge.

As with Dysphagia, my knowledge base for this class was lower: it’s not something with which I have a lot of experience from working in public schools.  I look forward to using this knowledge in future placements, as well as for those few cases where it is relevant in the schools (and it does happen).

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

